Our Reviews

Repointing front of property, installing metal lintels

Fantastic job done, great value for money ,Would 100% recommend,Great group of lads

April 2022

Re-pointing garden walls and part of external house wall

Very happy with repointing work on garden walls and part of house wall. I didn't realise how bad it had become until I saw how good it looked after they had finished the work. Professional, respectful of me and my home, courteous. Work completed on time and to budget. Many thanks

August 2021

Dismantling and totally rebuilding a new staircase leading up to my front door

These guys did an absolutely fantastic job on my new staircase, I was really impressed with the complete clean down and tidy up every night for the last 3 plus weeks, they was extremely polite and helpful to me whilst the works was going on, and the stairs themselves look amazing. I would highly recommend them.

December 2021

Reversing kitchen. Knocking out toilet and larder, and building a new toilet/utility room.

John and team were spot on. I’m a returning customer, I was so impressed with a smaller job in the past, it was a no brainer when I needed a big job doing. They were punctual, cleaned up every evening. Took all rubbish away. Polite, courteous and no hidden costs! I had windows taken out and bricked up, you would never know they had even been there now. They took layers of bricks off the chimney breast. Knocked out walls, took out old electrics and plumbing, and put in new the other end of the kitchen. Everything was well planned and ran really smoothly. I was consulted daily. I’m a very happy.

April 2022

Repairing a set of garages that had been badly affected by subsidence

The original quote was done promptly, fair and was clear to understand. The lads turned up on time and kept me informed what they were doing. The work involved replacing the complete back and side of the brick built garages, reinforcing and replacing the footings, repairing and reinforcing some of the floor and rebuilding the outer walls adding a door at the back and generally ensuring the property was sound. The builders involved worked hard, were polite and tried to keep any mess to a minimum, tidying up every evening before they left. I would have no problem recommending them to others.

April 2022

Replacement of garage lintel

Imperial Building replaced a large old garage lintel that was cracking and causing the brickwork above it to sag. Their assessment of the problem, flexibility on scheduling and communication in the run up to project getting underway was first class. The team were here for three days and it was a pleasure to have them around. They arrived promptly and cheerfully at the start of the day and cleaned and tidied away at its end. They are a great team who enjoy their work and justifiably take pride in their professional workmanship. I am delighted with the end result and will be using them again.

October 2021

Repairing a roof tile, fitting shelves, refitting doors and integrated appliances, new lock

Excellent in every way: great care was taken with each job, all of which were efficiently completed to a very high standard. We chose Imperial Building for the various jobs because of the superb work they had done for us in the past, particularly repointing our house walls and our front wall as well as repairing a leaking roof, when they worked hard each day with very few breaks.

September 2021

Replacing bricks and repointing front fascade of our house

Absolutely first class job done by Jon and his colleague Michael. Professional, efficient and very pleasant. No hesitation in recommending Imperial.

June 2021

Repointing brickwork

Repointing brickwork is a very messy and dusty job John and his team kept the site as clean and tidy as they could washing down the windows etc. Despite some very heavy rain and material shortages the job was completed on time .

June 2021

Opening up the back of the house and overseeing the installation of bi-fold doors.

Second time we have had work carried out by this company and would have them again. Extremely high standard of workmanship coupled with efficiency and a lovely approach. A win win combination.

May 2021

Re-pointing of existing patio and path plus a new smaller path laid.

Very efficient response to initial enquiry and they were able to start work soon after acceptance of quote. Any unforseen problems were fully explained and they worked very diligently.

May 2021

Demolition. General brickwork, new garage/workshop.

In a nutshell: timely, excellent work done to the book, good humoured, kept me informed of a) the price and b) the progress at all times. Ate all my donuts but small price to pay! Fully professional. This firm could tackle virtually anything.

April 2021

Redesign and laying of garden patio and building of outdoor bbq.

Amazing work once again from Imperial, they never disappoint. A professional and hard working team, paying attention to detail and always staying on the one job to the end. I am delighted with the finish and the time they took to ensure the garden was clear and tidy of any building materials. I would defo use again and defo recommend.

April 2021

Rebuild a faulty wall

Jon and his team had to remove the side wall from our living room and rebuild it , this was done with as much care and consideration as possible, I am so glad we found Imperial building, I have no hesitation in recommending this company.

February 2021

Loft conversion

Work is currently being carried out on the loft. The team has been really polite and professional and always update me on what steps are being taken next. I'm so pleased with how work is progressing quickly and efficiently and to a very high standard and they are meticulous when cleaning up at the end of the day.

January 2021

Erection of Garden Buildings

All work carried out professionally and in a timely fashion - always kept informed with progress - small additional matters carried out without fuss

January 2021

Remove damaged concrete path and replace. Clear filling each side of steps and seal gaps with mortar

It was a pleasure to have John and his employees doing this remedial work. Everything was explained to me in advance and all went as planned. The site was transformed and all rubble removed. I am very pleased with the standard of work and have no hesitation in recommending Imperial Builders Ltd

November 2020

Partition wall/chimney stack knocked through

Extremely professional. Looked into the job thoroughly before undertaking. Really pleased with the work Jon and his team have done and was impressed with how tidy they were. Would highly recommend them and would not hesitate to use them in the future.

October 2020

Repointing the side wall of a house

Outstanding in every way. Imperial builders worked with hardly a break for two days and the end result is superb. The job required liaison with the next door neighbour on whose land the workmen had to operate to do the job. Imperial builders made sure that he was happy throughout the process and that his property was left clean and tidy. We have recommended this company to others who have been equally delighted with the work done. L

October 2020

Kitchen extension and internal structural alterations

My extension was carried out in a very professional way from start to finish. Agreed prices before work carried out. Work was accurate to the drawings and always asked any questions as work proceeded. Jon and his team were friendly right from the beginning and was glad I had made the right choice. Workmanship was very high in all aspects and would recommend him for any future work

October 2020

Laid a sun terrace tiled section

Excellent quality work, consulted with us at all stages and cleared up fully at the end.

September 2021

Two new patios plus refurb of a third

Work was completed to a very high standard. We were kept informed of the progress and consulted where there were alternatives in parts of the build. All personnel on the project were good humoured, careful, polite and good company which made for an enjoyable experience on a major project.

September 2020

Medium sized job involving ground work, bricklaying and carpentry.

I instructed Imperial builders for a medium-sized job and one that required skill and attention to detail.Jon and his team carried out all aspects of the work to the highest standards.This included groundwork, carpentry and bricklaying. I was so pleased with Jon’s work I asked him to carry out extra work. Jon was very punctual, polite and professional.The site was kept clean and tidy throughout.I will definitely use Imperial builders again and in fact will not look anywhere else, so if you are reading this deciding what builder to use, you won’t be disappointed and I highly recommend Imperial.

August 2020

Removal of pond and brickwork and levelling off the surface

We were so impressed from start to finish. They arrived on time and did a fantastic job and they were so tidy and professional. We would definitely use them again and highly recommend.

July 2020

Retaining wall, taken down and rebuilt over 10 days

John and his team arrived every day on time. Really polite and curteous. Left the place clean and tidy every night. Hard workers. Excellent job! I wouldn't call anyone else now for building work.

July 2020

Construction of new patio/terrace

Jon and the team have completed this work on time and on budget. Workmanship was of highest quality and site was kept very clean and tidy. Highly recommended.

July 2020

Half way report on build of terrace.

Jon and the team have done everything as promised, keeping a clean site and good timekeeping alongside high standard of workmanship recommended.

June 2020

Re-pointing to brickwork

From obtaining an estimate to the end of the work everything was explained in full detail and the team were very pleasant, friendly and got on with the job. The site was always left clean and tidy at the end of each day and I will have no hesitation in using them again for any future building work

February 2020

New single storey building for local Scouts

Part way through development of single storey building for district scouts. Work competed has been first class. Developer also uses likeminded contractors whose work has also been excellent.

August 2019

Single story building with outside paving and supporting walls

Jon and his team have provided a great new building for local district Scout camp site which was finished to an excellent standard. They are meticulous in their approach and work with the client. We asked for additional work to be completed and paid the agreed additional fee. Completion time was longer than expected but seriously hampered by weather outside builders control. I would happily recommend Imperial any time.

December 2019

Raising of chimney breast

Small job but one requiring serious building skills - supporting chimney stack, cutting out brickwork, adding a number of concrete lintels to support remaining brickwork etc. Needed it doing quite quickly but although they were booked up solid for a while they were able to fit it in on a day when they couldn't work on their main job because of the weather. So, impressed with their flexibility too. Also Jon was very good at explaining the issues involved.

December 2019

Total ground floor renovation, including structural reconfiguration and complete overhaul.

Top class workmanship and we were kept informed at each stage of the project. Very tidy, conscientious and reliable.

July 2019

Removal of chimney and internal wall, changing doorways and fitting roof window

Imperial Builders (Jon and his team) completed out project within the agreed time frame and at the agreed price – perfect. We were consulted throughout the project to ensure satisfaction. They were flexible and very helpful with good advice. Everyone was friendly and left us clean and tidy.

June 2019

Part garage converted to utility room

This turned out to be a more complicated job than I envisaged, with damp proofing etc. Needed. However, Jon clearly explained the different options and implications throughout the course of the works. Jon, his team and the various subcontractors all arrived on time and were without fail courteous and friendly. The work has been completed on time, to budget, with a minimum of disruption and we are very pleased with the end result which has been completed to a high standard. I would happily recommend Jon and team and if we ever contemplate any further building work he will be our first call.

April 2019

New damp course fitted on outside landing/entrance area.

Repair and adjustments to guttering and drainpipe. Repainting of walls external/internal. John and his hardworking team worked hard to solve a longstanding damp problem. Always courteous and friendly, and always good communication, letting us know how things were going. After the job was done all was left clean and tidy. I will definitely be using John again when needed.

February 2019

Removal of chimney.

This is the second time I’ve used Imperial Building Ltd. The owner and his team are always very courteous and actually take an interest in the client. Workmanship is first class. They are clean and tidy in their work and leave the property in is good state. I’d have no hesitation in recommending them for large or small projects.

Feburary 2019

Brickwork and block work for a new house.

John and team took over the project from unsatisfactory contractors. We wished we had started with him. The quality of work is excellent and they work a proper day from a regularly prompt start. It is a challenging building about which John took a positive helpful approach.

February 2019

Total kitchen renovation from start to finish, including structural work.

A fantastic, professional service. Reliable, friendly and knowledgeable. Thank you Imperial Building.

December 2018

Replaced lintel and brickwork above window and applied damp proof course to side of window.

Jon and his team were highly recommended by a friend. Work was carried out to a very professional standard and in good time. Great service, will definitely use again.

November 2018

Works to garage conversion on house

Very good workmanship, reliable and kept us informed as work progressed excellent.

November 2018

Rebuild fireplace.

I would highly recommend Jon and his team to anyone looking for trustworthy professional builders. Clean, tidy, on time and very reasonably priced for the job they did. Great job done! I will use them again and will be recommending them to friends and family.

November 2018

New front garden wall block built and rendered.

We couldn't be more pleased with the work done by John and his team. The finish of the work is to a high standard. The guys were friendly and approachable. We had to wait a little time between the wall being built and the rendering being done, but we was informed about this at the start of the job and the wait was well worth it. The price was very competitive too. Perfect!!

November 2018

Renovating bungalow and adding extension

Recommended by friend and couldn't be more pleased. Clean and tidy, pleasant and excellent quick workers.

June 2018

Change double door opening to single door. Re plaster walls and ceiling in lounge and re plaster kitchen ceiling.

This is the 3rd time we have used John and Imperial Building. Always clean, polite and a quality job. Would recommend to anyone.
June 2018

Home extension - kitchen, dinning room.

Excellent service - always kept informed of what was going on exceptionally tidy considering work undertaken. Have caused minimal disruption to our living.

June 2018

Replaced rotten linked above window with RSJ and make good.

Excellent communication before during and at end of job. Work to excellent standard and would have no hesitation in recommending them again. The best builder I have had.

May 2018

New front garden wall, Re-pointing rear and side of house and Complete new enlarged patio to rear and side of house.

Professional and personable team that showed real interest in delivering a first class service and finished results. They ensured that I was kept up to date with works at all times and were always prompt and courteous at all times. I would not hesitate to recommend them.

August 2017

Removal of old kitchen, refit of new kitchen including ceramic floor filing, replastering and decorating

Very impressed with work carried out by imperial building professional, reliable and kept informed about progress of job. Would definitely recommend and use again

June 2017

Extend brick built steps outside French doors, to match existing brickwork.

Extremely good service, prompt arrival and work carried out was completed in one day, including cutting existing slabs and disposal of all waste material from job.

May 2017

New boundary wall to front of property - tile creasing and lintel on edge capping.

Very pleasant and polite. Good job. Very happy!

May 2017

New decking to rear garden.

Excellent service on time, very tidy and always advised state of job. Highly recommend to others.

May 2017

Two storey extension to existing house.

Great service turned up when said they would. Quick reliable job and problems overcome without issue.

March 2017

Face brickwork / flint blocks to the main house ground floor external areas.

Very professional approach to all aspects of work and very reliable.

February 2017

Remove back of house, put large RSJ in, wall removal with small RSJ, connected to large RSJ.

Friendly, polite manners, on time, neat and tidy, very high standard of work.

March 2017

Knocked down and rebuild front, elevation - front door, build block work partition inside

A very professional job completed. Extremely pleased with work.

November 2016

Removal of rotten joists + floorboards, re-plaster room and redecorating.

Excellent service. Would definitely recommend them.

November 2016

Building a wall and toping and damp proofing side of property.

Excellent standard if work and service.

November 2016

Flint block pointing

Working very well with projects, professional approach.

November 2016

Building sleeper walls to take timber stud walls above.

Very professional, tidy. Reliable and dealt with all aspects of work.

September 2016

Take down chimney build new roof and re-tile.

Work well done, tidy and courteous, always on time.

September 2016

Block work to garage/workshop

Reliable, courteous and patient with completing of job.

September 2016

Remove unused fireplace and replace with new brickwork to match, all in face brickwork

Excellent work. Polite and tidy. Thank you.

September 2016

Built garden wall

Clean, tidy, punctual and very courteous. Would certainly use this firm again.

September 2016

Replaced gutters /down pipe / soffit and re fitted aerial.

Excellent service , polite , reliable and superb value for money.

September 2016

Finish gable and chimney all work completed.

Yes these guys are very neat and tidy. A pleasure to be on site. Can't wait for them to come and do next footings.

August 2016

Cavity tray replacement above new extension

Kept us informed at all times. Explained works as they progressed. Work finished to a very high standard and on time scheduled.

July 2016

Finish house up to wall plate

Very good, clean, punctual company, all works very accurate, a pleasure to have them on site.

July 2016

Brick work for two new properties.

I have to write these guys are good in fact very good. Punctual, clean, very obliging. I would recommend anytime.

July 2016

Brick and blockwork repairs of house and brickwork to new extension

Good quality brick work, tidy workers, punctual, courteous, reliable.

July 2016

House build to 2 no. Houses.

Excellent service. Kept me informed of problems. Came back for an extra day just to clean the site up.

July 2016

Face work concrete block well dividing a ware house up to ridge level.

Again a very professional approach to all aspects of work.

June 2016

Face work concrete block dividing wall to a ware house up to plate level.

A very professional approach to all aspects of work.

June 2016

Brickwork to plate level

Kept me up to date with time lines + materials needed, clean tidy workers.

June 2016

Built extension and five knock through with steels.

They were generally very good.

June 2016

Plastering, painting, re pointing outside of house and garden walls and built new retaining wall.

Perfect and did right what somebody did wrong

June 2016

Brick work to 1st floor joists.

All works completed with minimal problems, clean, tidy and made aware of all issues as they arose.

June 2016

On going - laying wood floors, plastering, fit new kitchen, ceramic tiling, re painting and painting outside of house.

I am very happy with the work that was done.

May 2016

Knock through with steels, plastering, rendering, built wall.

Great job, would use again.

May 2016